Earlier this year Minnesota and Wisconsin announced they were leaving the WCHA because the Big Ten is going to form its own Collegiate Hockey conference.

The WCHA took another ugly turn when the Grand Forks Hearld reported 5 teams are going to leave the WCHA to form a new conference. Minnesota Duluth, North Dakota, Denver, Colorado College and Nebraska-Omaha are the teams leaving to form this new conference brining an end to the 50 year hockey conference. Miami (Ohio), Notre Dame and Western Michigan are possibilities from other conferences to join the newly created conference.