An announcement was officially made Wednesday in Colorado Springs that five teams from the WCHA and one team from the CCHA have left their conferences to form a new 6 team conference starting in 2013-14. The new conference will be called the Northern Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC). The five teams leaving the WCHA are Colorado College, Denver, Minnesota Duluth, Nebraska Omaha and North Dakota. Miami (Ohio) will also join those teams from the CCHA. The NCHC is still seeking other members, specifically Notre Dame, to join the conference.