The Minnesota Gophers have released the roster for the upcoming spring football game. The game will feature Maroon versus Gold and as far as starters go, their isn’t many surprises. I was pleased to see RB James Gillum on the Maroon team. Gillum is a junior college transfer and someone who I predicted could have a good season if he gets playing time and stays healthy. My other predictions, Jonah Pirsig and Andre McDonald, are both not suiting up. This is expected as they are both Freshmen. The other freshman who made it is QB Mitch Leidner but this speaks more towards MarQueis Gray’s playing time during the spring game. Some recent recruits did make the reserve team (they are italicized). Check out the full list

Maroon team

DB – Michael Carter, Grayson Levine, Steven Montgomery, Troy Stoudermire, Brock Vereen, Kenny Watkins

DL– Michael Amaefula, Quinn Bauducco, Cameron Botticelli, Gavin Bronson, Thieren Cockran, Curran Delaney, RaShede Hageman

LB – Joey Balthazor, Lamonte Edwards, Ryan Grant,  Jephte Matilus, Mike Rallis, Dominic Schultz

OL – Josh Campion, Zac Epping, Jimmy Gjere, Marek Lenkiewicz, Zach Mottla, Ed Olson, Tommy Olson

QB – MarQueis Gray, Mitch Leidner

RB – David Cobb, James Gillum, JoJuan Harper

TE– Drew Goodger, Mike Henry, Sahr Ngekia, John Rabe

WR – C.J. Cesario, Derrick Engel, Malcolm Moulton, Cameron Wilson

Specialists – Jared Hartman, Chris Hawthorne, Dan Orseske, Dave Ramlet

Gold team

DB – Jeremy Baltazar, Briean Boddy, Martez Shabazz, Cedric Thompson, Nate Tow-Arnett, Derrick Wells

DL – Austin Hahn, Ben Perry, Scott Ekpe, Matt Garin, Eric Jacques, Harold Legania, DL Wilhite

LB – Brendan Beal, Keanon Cooper, Aaron Hill, James Manuel, Dwayne Mitchell, Judd Paffrath, Spencer Reeves, Peter Westerhaus

OL – Caleb Bak, Joe Bjorklund, Jon Christenson, Foster Bush, Sean Ferguson, Ernie Heifort, Kyle McAvoy, Luke McAvoy

QB – Dexter Foreman, Philip Nelson, Max Shortell

RB – Cole Banham, Donnell Kirkwood, Devon Wright

TE – Moses Alipate, Alex Bisch, Kendall Gregory-McGhee, Gabe Mezzenga

WR – AJ Barker, Devin Crawford-Tufts, Isaac Fruechte, Logan Hutton, Victor Keise, Matt Kloss

Specialists – David Schwerman, Jake Filkins, Peter Mortell, Jordan Wettstein